Another bit from the illustration course that I am taking…


The Lord keeps repeating a few words of advice in almost every creative venture that I’m working on right now:

Stop worrying about what other people think/do!

Don’t apologize for your work!

But, oh, it’s so hard to cultivate a pride for my work when there are other people out there, from my world, younger than me and growing younger by the year, who can make a world bloom on paper! It’s not a pride so much that I crave, at least not the haughty, bad sort. Just to be able to hold my head up and say, “yes, I did that”. With no excuses. “Oh, it’s just a sketch, really.” “Oh, well, I tried.” “Look how wonky all those lines are over here!”

I feel like one of the servants from the Gospels, standing here with my little bag of gold. Will I hide them in the earth, keep them safe from critique and disillusion? Or will I be faithful in these few things, practice, flex my creative muscles and make them grow?

I’m reading “To Kill A Mockingbird” right now and just reached the chapter where Miss Maudie says “People in their right minds never take pride in their talents.” Funny timing, just as I was thinking about this post. I think she may be right. So, I’ll keep looking out for a word that will describe the sort of creative pride, ownership that I want to experience, and in the meantime, follow the third piece of advice that I keep getting:

Practice!!

2 thoughts on “Another bit from the illustration course that I am taking…

Leave a Reply

