Illustration Friday-Safari


Drawing this was so much fun! I love the charming idea of adventure – especially when a little productive science is mixed in. This little lady from the ’20s has been on a safari, looking for all sorts of different plants and seeds. The samples she has collected are carefully cataloged inside of the big black trunk. She reminds me a little of Captain Good from “King Solomon’s Mine” – always tidy with her proper black umbrella and a cup of tea even in the heat of Africa. I think her name is Evelyn.

She may be a little girl perched on top of a pile of boxes in the attic, daydreaming. Like me.

The watercolors didn’t turn out quite like in my head – I almost like it better in sepia! I’d love to give this theme another spin…with digital coloring maybe.

Leave a Reply

